MANILA, Philippines – National Artist for Music and award-winning composer Ryan Cayabyab is one of the recipients of the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award announced last Friday at the De La Salle University-Rufino Campus in Taguig City.

The prestigious award, named after the 7th President of the Philippines, has been awarded to over 300 people and organizations whose “selfless service has offered their societies, Asia, and the world successful solutions to some of the most intractable problems of human development.”

Annually, the trustees of the foundation select the winners of Asia’s premier prize. Cayabyab is the sole Filipino to nab the award this year, joining journalist Ko Swe Kin (Myanmar); businessman and Foundation for Preventing Youth Violence founder Kim Jong-Ki (South Korea); News Anchor Ravish Kumar (India); and Justice for Peace Foundation founder Angkhana Neelapaijit (Thailand).

The 65-year-old artist was recognized as “an inspiration and guiding light to many.”

“The next generation should be better than us for our country to move forward. For this to happen, we must teach them everything we know at every possible instance. I like teaching, I like sharing what I know, and I like playing music. When I’m doing all these, I’m very happy,” Cayabyab said.

Best known for his works such as “Kay Ganda ng Ating Musika,” Cayabyab was also the conductor, arranger, and composer of the Philharmonic Orchestra and Master Chorale. To this day, Cayabyab is a pillar of the Original Pilipino Music (OPM) movement. (HGBH/LMO)

Photo from Ryan Cayabyab Facebook page


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here